Harmanpreet Singh to Lead Indian Hockey Team at Five-Nation Tournament

Ace drag-flicker Harmanpreet Singh will be leading a 24-member Indian hockey squad at the upcoming Five-Nation Tournament in Valencia, Spain, from December 15 to 22. The tournament is set to serve as a crucial preparatory event ahead of the 2023-24 FIH Hockey Pro League season.

Singh’s appointment as captain reflects his impeccable leadership qualities and his immense contribution to the Indian hockey team. His experience and expertise will undoubtedly guide the team towards success in the upcoming tournament.

The 24-member squad comprises a blend of seasoned players and promising young talents, ensuring a balanced and dynamic team. Sumit and Amit Rohidas will be supporting Singh as vice-captains for the tournament.

Full list of Indian hockey squad:


  • PR Sreejesh
  • Krishan B Pathak
  • Suraj Karkera


  • Harmanpreet Singh (Captain)
  • Jarmanpreet Singh
  • Jugraj Singh
  • Amit Rohidas
  • Varun Kumar
  • Sumit
  • Sanjay
  • Nilam Sanjeep Xess


  • Manpreet Singh
  • Hardik Singh
  • Vivek Prasad
  • Dilpreet Singh
  • Simranjeet Singh
  • Vishal Ray
  • Sumit Valmiki


  • Akashdeep Singh
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Gurjant Singh
  • Dilpreet Singh
  • Jaskaran Singh
  • Shivam Goswami

The goalkeeping department will witness the return of Suraj Karkera alongside regulars PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak, providing a solid foundation for the team’s defense.

The defensive unit, led by Singh, includes Jarmanpreet Singh, Jugraj Singh, Amit Rohidas, Varun Kumar, Sumit, Sanjay, and Nilam Sanjeep Xess. Their experience and strategic prowess will be crucial in thwarting opponents’ attacks.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2024: 20-Team Format Explained After Uganda book Final Spot

The midfield consists of a mix of experienced and young players, including Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Hardik Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Dilpreet Singh, and Rajkumar Pal Singh. Their agility, ball control, and passing skills will be instrumental in creating scoring opportunities for the team.

The attacking line-up features Lalit Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Abhishek, and Sudeep Chirma, who are known for their speed, dribbling skills, and goal-scoring abilities.

The Five-Nation Tournament will provide the Indian hockey team with an excellent platform to test their skills and strategies against top international teams, including Spain, Germany, France, and Belgium. The tournament will also help the team identify areas for improvement and prepare for the challenges ahead in the FIH Hockey Pro League.

With Singh’s leadership and the combined strength of the 24-member squad, the Indian hockey team is poised for a successful campaign at the Five-Nation Tournament. The tournament will serve as a stepping stone towards achieving their ultimate goal of Olympic glory in Paris 2024.

DISCLAIMER: This team is based on the understanding, analysis, and instinct of the author. While selecting your team, consider the points mentioned and make your own decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *