Yashasvi Jaiswal Included, Ishan Kishan & Shreyas Iyer Omitted: Key Changes in BCCI’s Central Contracts for 2023-24

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the annual central contracts for the senior men’s team for the 2023-24 season on February 28, 2024. The list featured some notable inclusions, exclusions, and promotions, reflecting the BCCI’s emphasis on domestic performance and fitness.

Key Changes:

  • Added: Promising young opener Yashasvi Jaiswal was the most notable addition, finding recognition for his consistent performances in domestic cricket. Several other exciting young talents, including Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar, and Ruturaj Gaikwad, also received their maiden central contracts, signifying the BCCI’s focus on building a strong future for the national team.
  • Omitted: The biggest talking point was the exclusion of established players Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer. The BCCI reportedly took a strong stance against their decision to prioritize franchise cricket leagues over domestic tournaments, sending a clear message to other players about the importance of domestic participation.
  • Promoted: Players like Mohammed Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, and Kuldeep Yadav were rewarded for their consistent performances with promotions to higher contract grades. This reflects the BCCI’s appreciation for their contributions and motivates them to maintain their good form.
  • Others: Veteran batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was also not retained in the list, along with Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Deepak Hooda.

Complete List of Changes:

Added Players:

  • Yashasvi Jaiswal (Grade C)
  • Rinku Singh (Grade C)
  • Tilak Varma (Grade C)
  • Shivam Dube (Grade C)
  • Ravi Bishnoi (Grade C)
  • Jitesh Sharma (Grade C)
  • Mukesh Kumar (Grade C)
  • Prasidh Krishna (Grade C)
  • Avesh Khan (Grade C)
  • Rajat Patidar (Grade C)
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (Grade C)

Promoted Players:

  • Mohammed Siraj (Grade A)
  • KL Rahul (Grade A)
  • Shubman Gill (Grade A)
  • Kuldeep Yadav (Grade B)

Dropped Players:

  • Ishan Kishan
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Deepak Hooda

Downgraded Players:

  • Rishabh Pant (Grade B)
  • Axar Patel (Grade B)

Additional Notes:

  • The BCCI emphasized the importance of domestic cricket participation when selecting players for central contracts. This move aims to encourage players to prioritize the national team and contribute to the development of the Indian cricket ecosystem.
  • The complete list of players included in the central contracts, categorized by their respective grades, can be found on the BCCI’s official website or various sports news websites.

This announcement marks a significant shift in the BCCI’s selection policy, prioritizing domestic performance and fitness while nurturing young talent. It remains to be seen how these changes will impact the Indian cricket team’s performance in the upcoming season.

DISCLAIMER: This team is based on the understanding, analysis, and instinct of the author. While selecting your team, consider the points mentioned and make your own decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *