India’s T20I Squad For South Africa Series Undergoes Major Overhaul

India and South Africa will play three T20Is in December as part of India’s tour of South Africa. The first match will be played in Durban on 10th December, the second match will be played in Gqeberha on 12th December and the third and final match will be played in Johannesburg on 14th December.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the squad for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa, with several notable changes made to the team.

Four Players Dropped

Four players who featured in India’s recent T20I series against Australia have been dropped from the squad. These players are Deepak Chahar, Avesh Khan, Sanju Samson, and Axar Patel.

Gill and Jadeja Return

Two experienced players have made their way back into the T20I squad. Shubman Gill, who was in excellent form during the IPL 2023, has been recalled to the team. Ravindra Jadeja, who missed the Australia series due to injury, has also been included in the squad.

Additional Changes

There are a few other notable changes to the squad. Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Mukesh Kumar have been selected across all three formats for the tour. Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, and Arshdeep Singh have retained their places in the team.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: 4th T20I, Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Player Stats & Match Details.

Reasons for Omissions

There are a number of reasons why these players were omitted from the squad. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been given a break from white-ball cricket, while Jasprit Bumrah is being rested for the entire tour. KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, and Shardul Thakur are all part of the Test squad and will not play in the T20Is.

Opportunities for Others

The absence of these senior players will give some of the younger players in the squad a chance to prove themselves. Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, and Ruturaj Gaikwad are all exciting young batsmen who will be looking to make a big impact in the series.

Impact on the Series

The absence of these senior players will undoubtedly weaken the Indian team, but it is also an opportunity for the team to experiment and try out new players. The series is still expected to be close and competitive, and it will be interesting to see how the Indian team performs without some of its key players.

Complete Squad

The complete squad for the South Africa series is as follows:

  • Batsmen: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer
  • Wicketkeepers: Ishan Kishan, Jitesh Sharma
  • All-rounders: Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar
  • Bowlers: Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar

Looking Ahead

The T20I series against South Africa will be a crucial opportunity for India to fine-tune their preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup. The team will be looking to find the right combinations and develop a winning strategy ahead of the major tournament.

DISCLAIMER: This team is based on the understanding, analysis, and instinct of the author. While selecting your team, consider the points mentioned and make your own decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *