ICC Hall of Fame: Two Indian Veterans and Sri Lanka Batter Inducted.

ICC Hall of Fame:

In a testament to their stellar contributions to the sport of cricket, two Indian veterans and a Sri Lankan World Cup-winning batter were inducted into the prestigious ICC Hall of Fame on Monday. The inductees, Virender Sehwag, Diana Edulji, and Aravinda de Silva, represent the pinnacle of cricketing excellence and have left an indelible mark on the game.

Virender Sehwag: The Nawab of Najafgarh

Virender Sehwag, the swashbuckling opener from India, was a force to be reckoned with during his illustrious career. Known for his fearless and attacking style of play, Sehwag shattered records with his explosive batting. He holds the distinction of being the only Indian player to score two triple centuries in Test cricket. His aggressive approach and ability to dismantle bowling attacks made him a nightmare for bowlers worldwide.

Diana Edulji: A Pioneer in Indian Women’s Cricket

Diana Edulji, a trailblazer in Indian women’s cricket, was a pioneer both on and off the field. A left-arm spinner and lower-order batter, Edulji captained India for several years and played a pivotal role in shaping the women’s cricket team into a formidable force. Her contributions to the game extended beyond the field as she served as an administrator and coach, tirelessly advocating for the development of women’s cricket in India.

Aravinda de Silva: Sri Lanka’s World Cup Hero

Aravinda de Silva, the elegant left-handed batsman from Sri Lanka, was instrumental in his country’s historic World Cup triumph in 1996. His match-winning century in the final against Australia propelled Sri Lanka to its first-ever World Cup title. De Silva was a versatile cricketer who excelled in all three formats of the game, contributing with both bat and ball. His calm demeanor and ability to rise to the occasion made him a key player for Sri Lanka.

The induction of these three cricketing legends into the ICC Hall of Fame is a fitting tribute to their extraordinary achievements and the impact they have had on the sport. Their contributions serve as an inspiration to aspiring cricketers worldwide, demonstrating the power of dedication, passion, and perseverance.

Also Read: India’s ODI Record at Wankhede Stadium: A Legacy of Triumph and Grit

To be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, a player must have retired from international cricket for at least five years. They must also have made a significant and lasting contribution to the game. The selection process is rigorous, and only a select few players are chosen each year.

The Hall of Fame is located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It houses a museum that showcases the history of cricket and memorabilia from some of the game’s most iconic moments. Visitors can also watch videos of legendary players and learn about their careers.


The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is a valuable resource for cricket fans and historians alike. It provides a way to remember and celebrate the greatest players of all time. It also helps to inspire future generations of cricketers.


The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is a living institution that will continue to evolve over time. As new legends emerge, they will be considered for induction into the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame will play an important role in preserving the history of cricket and ensuring that the game’s greatest players are never forgotten.

DISCLAIMER: This team is based on the understanding, analysis, and instinct of the author. While selecting your team, consider the points mentioned and make your own decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *